Rizwan appointed vice-captain of Pakistan T20I team

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday confirmed that wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan has been appointed as the vice-captain of the national T20I team.

In his first assignment, Rizwan will deputize Shaheen Afridi during the upcoming five-match T20I series against New Zealand.

The series will be played from January 12 to 21 in Auckland, Hamilton, Dunedin and Christchurch.

Earlier today, the Pak team reached Auckland from Sydney ahead of the series against New Zealand. The men in green will begin training for the series tomorrow.

It may be noted that Pakistan recently faced a 3-0 whitewash in a Test series by Australia.

Pakistan squad for New Zealand T20

Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicket), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wicket), Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Rizwan (wicket), Muhammad Wasim Jr. Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Osama Mir and Zaman Khan

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I Series Schedule

  • 1st T20 – January 12 2024 at Eden Park, Auckland
  • 2nd T20 – January 14 2024 at Seddon Park, Hamilton
  • 3rd T20 – January 17 2024 at University Oval, Dunedin
  • 4th T20 – January 19 2024 Hagley Oval, Christchurch
  • 5th T20 – January 21 2024 Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.