India unbeaten in World Cup: In reply to the target of 358, the Sri Lankan team piled up 55 runs

India unbeaten in World Cup: In reply to the target of 358, the Sri Lankan team piled up 55 runs، In the 33rd match of the ICC Cricket World Cup, India defeated Sri Lanka by a huge margin of 302 runs.

Chasing the target of 358 runs set by India, the entire Sri Lankan team collapsed for 55 runs in the 20th over.

The Sri Lankan batting line proved to be a wall of sand in front of Indian fast bowlers Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj. Five Sri Lankan batsmen returned to the pavilion without opening an account while two batsmen were dismissed for one run each.

Angelo Mathews scored 12 runs, Mahesh Thakshana scored 14 runs and Kasan Rajitha scored 12 runs.

Earlier in the match played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Thursday, Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to field first, after which India scored 357 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

Shubman Gill played an innings of 92 runs on behalf of India, while other than him, Virat Kohli scored 88 runs and Shreyas Iyer scored 82 runs.

Bowling for Sri Lanka, Dilshan Madhushanka dismissed five players while Dushantha Chimera took one wicket.

This match played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai was the seventh match between the two teams in the World Cup.
Sri Lanka made one change in their playing XI for the match.

Dushan Hamantha was included in the squad in place of Dhananjaya de Silva while India’s squad remained unchanged.

Caption The Indian team is unbeaten after playing seven matches in the World Cup. Sri Lanka won only two of the seven matches.
The two teams have faced each other 10 times in the ODI World Cup so far, in which India won 5 times and Sri Lanka 4 times, while one match ended in a draw.

India’s playing XI
India’s playing XI includes Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Surya Kumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammad Siraj.

Sri Lanka Playing XI
The Sri Lankan squad includes Patham Nishanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Mendes (Captain, Wicketkeeper), Sudira Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Angelo Mathews, Dushan Hemantha, Dushantha Chimera, Mahesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha and Dilshan Madhushanka.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.