Pakistan beat New Zealand by 21 runs in a very important rain-affected match

Pakistan beat New Zealand by 21 runs in a very important rain-affected match, In the 35th match of the ICC One Day Cricket World Cup, Pakistan beat New Zealand by 21 runs under the Duckworth-Lewis method.

In the rain-affected match, under the Duckworth-Lewis method, Pakistan needed a target of 342 runs in 41 overs. And the green shirts had scored 200 runs for the loss of one wicket in the overs thanks to Fakhar Zaman’s brilliant 126 and Babar Azam’s 66 when the rain started again.

When the rain did not stop after a long wait, Pakistan was declared the winner under the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Earlier, New Zealand has given Pakistan a target of 402 runs for the loss of six wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

Pakistan’s batting line-up looked under pressure early on and opener Abdullah Shafiq was caught by Kane Williamson on the last ball of the second over. Abdullah is dismissed by Tim Southee.

After that, Babar Azam and Fakhz Zaman turned despair into hope again. Fakhiz Zaman restored the confidence of the team by completing a century in 63 balls with aggressive batting.

New Zealand’s innings The New Zealand openers started the innings confidently and their grip on the match was evident from their body language.

On the New Zealand side, Rachin Rondra scored 108 and Dion Conway played a brilliant innings of 95 runs to increase the total score of the team.

New Zealand’s first wicket fell to Dion Conway when he fell to Hasan Ali on the fifth ball of the 10th over. Conway scored 95 runs off 39 balls and was caught in the hands of Mohammad Rizwan.

Thus Hasan Ali’s century of wickets in ODI cricket is completed.

New Zealand’s Kane Williamson was caught by Fakhar Zaman in an attempt to complete his century by hitting a six off Iftikhar Ahmed’s ball in 35 overs after a brilliant batting.

Kane Williamson played an innings of 35 runs off 79 balls. He hit 10 fours and four sixes.

New Zealand’s third wicket fell in the 36th over when Rachin Rondra was caught by Saud Shakeel off Mohammad Wasim.

After winning the toss, Pakistan chose to bowl first against New Zealand

New Zealand’s fourth wicket fell in the 42nd over when Daryl Mitchell was bowled out by Haris Rauf. Daryl Mitchell scored 29 runs off 18 balls with the help of a four and a six.

New Zealand’s fifth wicket fell in 45 overs when Mark Chapman was bowled by Mohammad Wasim. Mark Chapman scored 39 runs off 27 balls with the help of seven fours.

Glenn Phillips was then bowled out by Mohammad Wasim in the 49th over. Glenn Phillips scored 41 runs off 25 balls with the help of four fours and two sixes.

New Zealand’s Mitchell Santner scored 26 runs while Tom Latham remained not out with two runs.

Among the Pakistani bowlers, Shaheen Afridi 90, Haris Rauf 85 and Hasan Ali 82 runs were very heavy for the team.
Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed and Haris Rauf took three wickets each while Muhammad Wasim gave 60 runs.

The match was stopped due to rain in the 23rd over Pakistan won the toss and decided to bowl against New Zealand.
The match between Pakistan and New Zealand is being played at the M. Channaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

After winning the toss, Pakistan team captain Babar Azam said that there is a possibility of rain today. So the bowlers will try to take advantage first.

He said that a change has been made in the playing eleven in today’s match. Hasan Ali has been included in place of Osama Mir.
Pakistan and New Zealand teams have faced each other 9 times in ODI World Cup competitions, in which overall Pakistan team has prevailed.

In the World Cup, Pakistan team has won three out of seven matches and is in the fifth position with six points, while New Zealand is in the fourth position with eight points after winning four out of seven matches.

Pakistan playing elevens match includes Abdullah Shafiq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Agha Salman, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim and Haris Rauf.

New Zealand Playing XI New Zealand’s squad includes David Conway, Rachin Ronda, Kane Williamson, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham, Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Ash Southee, Tim Sodhi and Trent Boult.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.