World Cup: Australian batting line-up proved to be a wall of sand in pursuit of 312, six out

World Cup: Australian batting line-up proved to be a wall of sand in pursuit of 312, six out, In the 10th match of the ICC Cricket World Cup, Australia has lost six wickets in pursuit of the target of 312 runs set by South Africa.

Australia has scored 106 runs in 26.2 overs for the loss of six wickets until recently.
Australia’s players out include Mitchell Marsh, David Warner, Steve Smith, Josh Ingles, Glenn Maxwell, and Marcus Stoins.

Earlier, in the match being played at the Akana Stadium in Lucknow on Thursday, South Africa batted first and scored 311 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 50 overs.

For South Africa, Quinton de Kock scored 109, Eden Markram scored 56 and captain Temba Bavuma scored 35 runs. Bowling for Australia, Glenn Maxwell and Mitchell Starc took two wickets each while Adam Zampa took one wicket.

South African opener Quinton de Kock scored 109 runs off 106 balls with the help of 8 fours and 5 sixes against Australia.

Captain Pat Cummins and the rest of the main bowlers on the Australian side performed poorly, while the Kangaroos’ performance in fielding was also very poor.

The Australian fielders dropped four catches from the South African batsmen.
Keep in mind that today both the teams are playing their second match in the mega event.
Earlier, Australia lost to India in Chennai while South Africa defeated Sri Lanka in their first match.

Australia have made two changes to the team for this match with Marcus Stoins replacing Cameron Greene and Josh Ingles returning to the playing XI in place of Alex Carey.

Aiden Markram played a crucial innings of 56 runs against Australia in Lucknow. Similarly, South Africa has made a change in the playing XI for this match, replacing fast bowler Gerald Coetzee with left-arm leg spinner Tabriz Shamsi in the team.

If we look at the history of ODI World Cup matches between the two teams, Kangaroos and Proteas have met six times so far, in which Australia has won three times and South Africa has won twice.

Australia playing David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marence Labuchin, Josh Ingles (wicketkeeper), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoins, Pat Cummins (captain), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood.

South Africa playing Elonquinton de Kock (wicket keeper), Temba Bavuma (captain), Rasi van der Dussen, Adam Markram, Henrik Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansson, Kesho Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Tabriz Shamsi.

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.