Defeating Islamabad United, Quetta Gladiators won by three wickets

In the eighth match of the Pakistan Super League, Quetta Gladiators defeated Islamabad United by three wickets.

In the match played at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore on Thursday, Quetta Gladiators achieved the target of 139 runs on the second ball of the eighteenth over with three wickets remaining.

It should be noted that this is the third consecutive victory of Quetta Gladiators in the event. Quetta Gladiators have also managed to maintain the second position on the PSL points table with six points.

Quetta Gladiators started chasing the target of 139 runs when opener Saud Shakeel was dismissed for just two runs off Naseem Shah in the second over.

Gladiators suffered their second loss at a total score of 49 when Roman Raees bowled Khawaja Nafi for nine runs.

Jason Roy played an excellent innings of 37 runs and lost his wicket on the ball of Karhaneen Shah. Wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed made only one score and was dismissed lbw by Shadab Khan.

Riley Russo’s 34 runs and Sharfan Rutherford’s 29 runs played an important role in the team’s victory.

Quetta Vs Islamabad: Quetta won the toss

Quetta Gladiators won the toss and invited Islamabad United to bat first, then opener Alex Hales scored 21 and was caught out by Riley Russo off Aqeel Hussain.

Islamabad United suffered their second loss when Colin Munro was dismissed by Abrar Ahmed for 20, caught by Sharfin Rutherford.

Islamabad United and Gladiators have faced each other 18 times in the history of PSL.

Once again team captain Shadab Khan and Azam Khan failed to show better performance. Shadab scored two runs and Azam Khan scored only one run.

However, Agha Salman played an innings of 33 individual runs with the help of five fours and caught Khawaja Nafi on the ball of Abrar Ahmed.

Jordan Cox and Faheem Ashraf’s 39-run partnership played an important role in the team’s total of 138.

On behalf of Quetta Gladiators, Abrar Ahmed and Muhammad Wasim took three wickets each, Aqeel Hussain took two, and Muhammad Hasnain took one.

Naseem Shah and Shadab Khan of Islamabad United managed to get two wickets each while Roman Raees and Haneen Shah managed to get one wicket each.

Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.